Pregnancy Updates

After one month of really trying to get pregnant, and then another of using an ovulation kit, Jon and I planned our trip to Europe! We decided to quit trying to get pregnant (but not prevent it) so that we could enjoy a trip without worrying about anything. While we were in Europe, we talked about the things we could do with our lives if we never get pregnant. The best option (to me) was to sell our condo next year, take our money, and move to The Netherlands for 3 months. I love traveling so to me, this was perfect! Why would I even want kids?!

We quit tracking my period and stopped worrying about ovulation. I didn’t keep track the month before our vacation so I had no idea when I was ovulating. I was on my period in Europe, so while everybody made comments about us getting pregnant there, it was obviously not happening for us.

I’ve been secretly crossing my fingers not to get pregnant because I really just want to take another travel assignment in Colorado and go on a few more trips to Europe!

While looking for bobby pins the other day, I came across a pregnancy test in my bathroom drawer. I forgot I even had it since I we had stopped “trying.”

The other day at work, I felt nauseous for about a minute. It was quick and since I have such a sensitive stomach and it feels off frequently, I didn’t think much of it. It was a quick reminder that I should be getting my period this week.

When I got home from work that night, I went to go pee and for some reason, decided to take a pregnancy test.

I watched the horizontal line appear and went to pick up the test to throw it away, as I breathed a bit of a sigh of relief. And then the vertical line started popping up! And there was a + sign.

IMG_0150

It looked so faint in person that I was almost convinced that it was just some sort of error! I asked Jon if he thought it was positive and he said he thought so. I texted his sister that picture to ask her if it was positive, to which she replied that there are no false positives. She said she knew I was pregnant in Florida as soon as she saw me and that she actually told her husband that she thought we were going to announce it at dinner. She asked me that night if we were pregnant yet and I said no and I guess she was really shocked.

I felt 100% fine, so I really had no clue. I decided to take one more test in the morning (I found another one in the drawer) just to be sure. When I woke up at 3:50 and couldn’t sleep another second because I just had to know, I realized why the recommend taking it first thing in the morning- you can’t sleep or concentrate on anything after getting a positive!

I got up at 3:50 to pee on stick #2.

IMG_0153

So, there you have it. Two positive pregnancy tests.

We announced it to my family that night (my sister came in town) and then Facetimed Jon’s family to tell them. I wish we had taken a picture of his mom’s face! It was priceless! And so was our niece, Zoe’s!

I still don’t feel pregnant though, so it’s hard to believe. My confirmation appointment is July 15th. I found a due date calculator online and went back to figure out the date we were in Munich (when I got my period- which also was a week earlier than I thought, so my period was actually a week late when I took the test) so that I could calculate my due date. I’m due Feb 25th, according to the website. I’m 5 weeks and 1 day today based on my last period. I’ve had really mild cramping periodically and my boobs are definitely already hurting, but no nausea or anything.

It’s early. It’s actually really early to announce since I could still miscarry at any time. But I’m kind of an open book and I don’t really keep secrets so I might as make some announcements! Nobody I know personally reads this (we aren’t doing an official announcement for awhile, but we’ve told a handful of people). Besides, if this pregnancy fails, I’m sure I’ll want to discuss my thoughts. If it doesn’t, then we’re really still having a baby!

I will say, I woke up the other morning and really just basked in the silence. I also thought about how weird it’ll be to have a car seat in my car so soon! I still feel like my life is coming to an end, but I know this will grow on me as I start to actually feel more pregnant!

12 thoughts on “Pregnancy Updates

  1. Congrats on the pregnancy! It’ll feel a lot different once you have the little one in your arms. Still wishing from time to time you had some piece and quiet but still grateful. Yeah, there’s no false positives haha but I would have done the same regardless. The baby is part German haha.

    • The baby was made after we got home! But I’m actually part German, so it’s still true 🙂 And thank you! I think it’ll be different once we see an ultrasound and I start showing! Then it’ll start to feel real!

  2. Congratulations on the pregnancy!! I have lost count of how many of my girlfriends got pregnant after they decided to stop ‘trying’. Here’s to the next chapter xo

  3. Congrats lady! That’s crazy that she KNEW you were pregnant while you were visiting. Did she say how she knew??

  4. Congratulations! That’s kinda odd your sister knew when she saw you but sometimes I wonder if people we’re close to could sorta tell something like this. From what I’ve heard pregnancies always happen when you least expect- my friend got pregnant when training for a marathon (she did not run the marathon and dropped to the half) and she didn’t even think she could get pregnant at all. Good luck with the appointments and can’t wait to read more 🙂

    • When we were trying, everybody at work said to stop focusing on it cause it happens when you’re not trying! And what do you know- the first month I decided I really wanted to wait a few months, I got pregnant!

  5. I am really happy for you. I don’t want children but I don’t know what I would do if I found out I was. I think I would probably take 5 pregnancy tests honestly LOL. I am of course super happy for you and I can’t wait to follow along in this next journey of your life.

    • I never knew you didn’t want kids! I feel like I should keep taking them now make sure they’re still positive, but I’m just going to wait until my appointment since that bill is so big anyway, haha.

  6. runninginscrubs

    Congrats! I’m sure you’ll step into the mom role no problem and you have 9 (10) months to prepare! Can’t wait for y’all to start on this adventure!

Leave a comment